Jonah, the First Grace Swimmer

For You cast me into the deep, into the heart of the seas, and the flood surrounded me-Jonah 2:3

Jonah understood exactly who was in control and whose hand it was who threw him over the ship. His focus was not on the men but on God. While in the belly of the fish Jonah prayed saying, “The waters closed in over me to take my life; the deep surrounded me” (v.5). I went down to the land whose bars closed upon me forever; yet You brought up my life from the pit, O Lord my God” (v.6)

When things seemed hopeless, Jonah prayed and remembered the Lord. Christians, remember the Lord and recall to mind His promises to you. Be committed to knowing His Word so that when you feel the winds and the waves of life surround you, you can speak truth in that situation. The name of the Lord is a strong tower and the righteous man runs into it and is safe.

Leave a Reply

