“Death is like my car. It takes me where I want to go.” ― John Piper

Do you think of your death day? Probably not. I would venture to say most of us do not unless we’re dealing with a serious illness. A friend recently lost her brother to cancer. ‘Twig’ had such a positive view of life and death, I marvel at the graceful way he died. He understood death was imminent and soon his joy would be complete-he would meet his Savior face to face. He was also looking forward to seeing his parents again.

I thought to myself, I want to die like this. Oh to be young and still eager to see the Lord. Why don’t we embrace death when it takes us where we want to go? I think we’ve gotten a little too comfortable down here. This life is only temporary, a mist that appears but quickly vanishes. The Psalmist said, “Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths, and my lifetime is as nothing before you. Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath!”Psalm39:5ESV

Surely, by now we know tomorrow is not promissed. So, go live life as if it is the beginning of your death. Live in light of eternity and be eager for our Lord’s return.

Leave a Reply

