Thinking Rightly About God

In Matthew 16, Jesus asked his disciples who do people say that I am. They said, John the Baptist, Elijah, Jeremiah or one of the prophets. He then asked them, “But who do you say that I am?” (Matt.16:15) Peter said, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

That one statement says it all, doesn’t it? Jesus is not just any man or prophet; he is the one who was, who is and is to come. He is the promised Messiah-God in the flesh. Have you ever wondered why Jesus asked those questions? He already knew what was in man’s heart.  He knew exactly what people thought of him. So why did he ask and why is our response so important?

A.W. Tozer in his book Knowledge of the Holy said, “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us.” He goes on to say that the most revealing thing about the church is her idea of God. “She can never escape the self-disclosure of her witness concerning God.”

Paul writes in Romans 1:21-“For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened.” The crowds that surrounded Jesus thought that he was just a man but we know Jesus as the God man. Our brother Peter declared the Lord’s deity and his purpose in the world. This truth is the rock that the church is built upon. Since Jesus is our rock, do we like Peter, freely and clearly confess him as the Christ? Then, how is that reflected in our worship and in our witness? I’m afraid we are an idolatrous nation and our view of God is low. Let’s be resolved not to reduce God to the ‘Big Guy’ in the sky. Let’s be jealous for his glory so that we can boldly preach Christ to a dying generation in word and in deed.

One thought on “Thinking Rightly About God

  1. “For we cannot but speak of what we have seen and heard.”-Acts 4:20

    Great Verse and word to live by. Adrian, thanks for sharing your heart. There honestly are a few of us left. It is a sad commentary you have alluded to, and I certainly agree that the U.S. for the most part has turned their back on the God of this nation’s foundation.

    “Let’s be resolved not to reduce God to the ‘Big Guy’ in the sky.” Well, Earth is his footstool, but I agree, He is so much more. I do remember the night that ‘the Big Guy’ stopped all of the machinery of Heaven and answered my heart’s cry. You see, I was at a concert and I invited two friends from a couple hours away.

    I felt my wife and I should take them out for snacks afterwards. I had no money at the time, and so under my breath I said to the Lord, “if I could just get a $5 bill into my hands.”. In the seventies, $5 could buy a lot of burgers and fries. After the concert, one of the quartet singers walked right over to me in an assembly of 500 people.

    “Sir,” he said, “I want you to have this.” He then placed a crumpled $5 bill in my hands and left without another word. So the TRUTH is – God stopped all his work in Heaven just long enough to get a $5 biil into my hands like I asked for. This is the kind of STUFF we should be feeding to all of our athiest and contrary friends and neighbors.

    Where eagles fly,
    Don (Greywolf)
    Native American Storyteller
    See “Royal Ferdinand” A popular kids tale at Amazon.com
    http://www.cnyartists.com/profile/DonFord

Leave a Reply

